Leftovers

Sunday lunch we had roast chicken. Sunday night we had roast chicken pie (with a kangaroo gravy sauce?!) and then tonight I am going to make something with the rest of the chicken which is akin to a shepherd’s pie. In fact, it IS a shepherd’s pie. Let’s be honest, shepherd’s pie has developed into something which is mostly made out of mince and topped with a creamy/cheesy mash but it used to be for using up old meat. Not in the gone-off horrible way ‘old meat’ but day old roast, etc. So I am sticking with tradition! Then I’m going to make a nice chicken stock out of the bones and I think I can be rather proud of our usage of one bird. Smarmy, I know!

Leave a Reply

