Thanksgiving

A while ago (in the summer in fact), I happened to find tins of pumpkin in the supermarket. So I bought a couple and decided that I would have a Thanksgiving meal later in the year. We are therefore going to be celebrating this evening. I like the idea of giving thanks for all the good things in your life.

I have had a few Thanksgiving meals with American friends and so have taken various elements and made them into a (perhaps slightly more Anglo-sised, if that’s allowed) evening menu. I have cooked cornbread and instead of a whole turkey, we are having turkey steaks, with sweet cranberries inside, wrapped in a nice pancetta (or something similar.) Then there’s green beans with garlic and lemon and spiced sweet potato mash with melted marshmallows on top, as well as gravy (which will probably be beef based as we are currently boiling up a whole preserving pan worth of bones to make stock.) The pumpkin pie is in the oven and I’m serving it with vanilla ice cream with an assortment of unhealthy sweets and chocolates added. I know some will be disappointed, but there is no macaroni cheese. It’s not that I don’t like it, I am a big fan of this particular dish but it’s just that I see it as something one should eat separately to what is essentially, a fabulous roast dinner- or it should be. I suppose however, the principle is that you gather family and friends, and give thanks together for the good things, whilst eating your favourites out of the traditional food- whether that’s sweet potato, turkey, pie or Cool Whip.

Leave a Reply

