Pumpkins (part 2)

DSC_0043 DSC_0045 DSC_0046 DSC_0048

This morning I have cooked one pumpkin: I’ve made two pumpkin and quince spiced crumbles, pumpkin cookies (helpfully sampled by my husband because I made them with wheat), spicey salted pumpkin seeds, roasted pumpkin to have with our lunch (homemade pasta with bacon) and then there was some left over that I’ve frozen for when I need a happy pumpkin boost to a meal out of season. I now have one pumpkin yet to use and I’m planning (though not today) on pumpkin puree to flavour and colour risotto, maybe some kind of chutney… I’ve also found lots of other fun recipes, such as pumpkin bread, cake, flapjack, ravioli. The possibilities are seemingly endless and it’s good to have a vegetable which is so versatile in both sweet and savoury.

There is no picture of the pumpkin pasta as it was one of those things that tasted good but looked messy! It was the first time I’ve ever made pasta and I was pleased with it, it actually tasted of pasta! Nevertheless, as it was wheat free, the aesthetics need perfecting!

 

Leave a Reply

