Autumnal Saturday

DSC_0018DSC_0008 DSC_0019It’s Saturday and I’ve been looking forward to it all week. Yesterday I bought 1 litre of gin, and my Mum gave me some whisky. It’s not what you think. Today is a creative day. I have sloes in the freezer (because someone told me this ‘fools’ them into thinking it’s the first frost.) They are going to turn into sloe gin. I’ve never made anything like this before, and I’m quite excited because I used to have it as a treat, poured over vanilla ice cream. Admittedly, we aren’t going to keep the lot. Some is becoming Christmas presents. Then there’s the mincemeat. I’m going to use the whisky to soak the apple, candied fruit and sultanas with the spices and spend a pleasant afternoon tomorrow jarring it. My husband has gone out to get butter so that he can make large amounts of pastry. We are going to have apple pies and pork pies. The view outside of this window is a multi-coloured tree, showing me one of my ‘happy-thoughts’- the changing of the seasons, the coming of Autumn and Winter. This is what my Autumnal Saturday should be. 🙂

Leave a Reply

